Staying out of the way

Over the course of the last few years, I must say that my prayer life has grown stronger and stronger with each passing day. I have really discovered that its a lot less like a formal request made of some far-away heavenly father, and more like an on-going conversation with my constant companion throughout my entire day. It has been a huge evolution for me and has made such a difference in my life and my relationship with God. I find that it is not a one way street – me asking for help, asking for forgiveness, asking for what I need…or want. My prayers have grown and evolved into a two way street where I pour out what’s on my heart and I listen for God’s guidance. I know that I still have so much room for growth – and I am not writing about this to boast about my prayer life…I have just been reflecting on things learned and observations about my faith. I seem to keep going back to my word that I chose to focus on this year. LISTEN…I have begun to not only listen more attentively to those around me, but also I have begun to better listen to myself, and to God. This has changed my prayer life in that I find myself praying to God and NOT asking him for what I think I want or for what I think I need….rather, I have been trying to pray and ask God for what HE knows I need. I have been trying to pray and ask God that whatever His will is – that it be done…and then I listen. I still find myself at times trying to talk Him into what I think I need…but more often have been trying just to stay out of His way and let Him handle things. I can’t fathom a single day without prayer…without that constant conversation going on with God, who guides me through the day. I am so thankful for the kind of love that God has for me that keeps that conversation going. Now, I just have to get out of the way – and listen.

5 thoughts on “Staying out of the way

  1. I can really identify, Julie. Prayer is the glue that keeps holding me together in one piece. And it is so important to listen as well as talk. God bless you as you continue on this awesome journey!

  2. That is great, I feel the same way in my journey. Sometimes I just don’t understand why some people just don’t get it, but I have to remember there was a time I was in that crowd too.

Leave a Reply

